Who We Are

Micrex is the developer of an enabling technology which imparts properties of softness/drape and hand, stretch/extensibility, absorbency, bulk, pre-shrinking and decorative effects to nonwovens, films, textiles, papers, and composites. This technology – embodied in an expanding series of machine configurations known as Micrex®/Microcrepers™ — allows companies to dramatically expand the use and application for traditional and new sheet materials.


Micrex was originally formed in the early 1960’s as a division of Bird Machine to commercialize the inventions of Richard R. Walton. Bird Machine was active globally in the manufacture of paper machinery, so it naturally followed that the initial thrust of Micrex would be closely tied to the paper machinery roots of its parent.

In the late 1980’s, Micrex was purchased by an investor group and set up as an independent company.  In 1995, Richard C. Walton joined the company as president and subsequently purchased the outstanding stock of the company.

From Machinery Manufacturer to Product Development Resource

In 1995 Micrex was viewed as a machinery manufacturer.  Now the company is a product development resource focusing on Microcreping technology for global roll goods producers and product goods companies. Extensive ongoing R&D has allowed Micrex to radically expand the range of substrates processed. Since its beginning with one equipment configuration, Micrex has expanded to nine different compressive treatment configurations.

Although the company is relatively new, it has a history of 40+ years serving the paper, film, nonwoven and textile industries. Micrex has demonstrated its capability of being a strong, innovative and committed partner for some of the largest and most sophisticated companies in the world.

Serving Global Markets

Historically, almost 30% of Micrex’s sales have been to overseas customers. A network of independent agents represents Micrex internationally. Micrex/Microcrepers are in Japan, Germany, France, United Kingdom, Indonesia, Taiwan, Korea, Canada, Brazil, Pakistan, Spain, Sweden, India, Philippines, Malaysia and the United States.